The MartianThe Martian by Andy Weir

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Okay here’s the honest truth. I didn’t imagine I’d be as enamoured with this whole Martian business as I have been for the last few days. I will also have to admit the Martian movie took me completely by surprise. I am not normally into Sci-fi space stuff (unless it’s as awesome as DUNE) but Matt Damon totally killed The Martian. I imagined the scenes in the movie as I read the book, and while I normally read the book first before watching adaptation, this time, either way this did it for me.
I loved how Andy Weir wrote his debut novel. Journal-plot structure provides for a relatable plot by cutting away the fat from the flesh of a story. This style condenses the plot and you get to read only those scenes which are important enough for the characters to note down. It excites me to no end. This book reminded me of another book I love, written a similar way: A Tale for The Time Being by Ruth Ozeki.
Forget the terror of getting abandoned alone on a planet and having to survive in an environment that can kill you at any given turn. How I love Mark’s resilient spirit and his wicked sense of humour. I lived for those scenes when he was screwed and he had to figure shit out on the fly. I was literally on tenterhooks as I followed his badass MacGyver survival skills.
Admittedly I didn’t understand most of the brainy stuff said in the Martian, but it didn’t take away the excitement I got from getting a glimpse into how NASA is run and how astronauts conduct themselves in space. A truly spectacular read! Okay, let me stop here before I spill all the beans and narrate the entire story.

