A Tale for the Time BeingA Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I am baffled. I don’t know whether I was reading non-fiction or semi-fiction. Ruth Ozeki features in her story and so does her husband and the circumstances are so real that I am not aware what is fiction and what is real. Perhaps this is her ‘Supapawa’
A Tale for the Time Being unfolds like a ripe succulent fruit and takes us on a journey to self discovery that is so awe-inspiring that it felt so real to me. My temper flared and my heart broke to shards and there are times I was so sad, and happy and overwhelmed. Just like Ruth, I really wanted to save Nao, if only my superpower involved me jumping into storybooks and playing the part.
This is such a heartrending tale of self discovery and triumph over insurmountable odds that are not as far-fetched as one would imagine. I could have been Nao. She could have been my sister or my daughter. Her dad could have been my dad or me and it tore me to pieces, how the world can be such a monstrous beast.
Jiko’s wisdom was so profound and her ‘supapawa’ was off the charts.
This was not great characterisation, this was real life! I especially loved the letters written in french. They were blood-stained caterpillers that blossomed into such beautiful butterflies. I loved the language the Sky Soldier used.
Thank you Ruth for this beautiful tale. ❤

View all my reviews

