Tower Lord (Raven's Shadow, #2)Tower Lord by Anthony Ryan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

With the Tower Lord, Anthony Ryan has heralded his enviable entry into the league of great epic writers such as Tolkien made even more impressive Tower Lord being only his second novel, the first Bloodsong which he self published a first.

Reading this novel, I marvelled at the organisation and progression of the fragmented plots, his rock solid memorable characters, his eerily descriptive narrative, the sheer genius of the plot, it’s flawless execution and all that. At that point alone, Anthony Ryan had already earned himself 5 Stars from me. What he pulled off is not something for the faint-hearted. Every climax, expression, reaction, name it was spot on.

I had some misgivings about certain aspects though, most especially the one concerning the DarkBlade. Took most of the book for me to see some action from him and I was like @_@. He was the main attraction and all and I would have loved to see him bash some heads in or do something spectacular at intervals. it was cool though that he didn’t get to hog the limelight all by himself and we got to see mostly his disciples go on to do great things instead of waiting for him to come save the day. Only Superman does that crap and that’s the reason he wears his underwear on top.

My mouth is watering again right now…

View all my reviews

