The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard, #1)The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

One thing I can say about Lies of Locke Lamora is that for a good chunk of the time, it was a Death by Over-description. A good many parts were over described to a point that I entirely lost the rhythm of the plot. It felt like delicately picking the meat from bones of a delicious fish meal. It made reading torture which explains why it took me a whole week to read the book. The heavy words and technical language did not help matters either.
The writing style is not so bad and the climax was actually brilliant work. Matter of fact, Scott Lynch seemed to get better as the story progressed finally managing to utterly arrest my concentration altogether. The ending was so good that I see myself reading the second volume in the series so as to know what happens to the remaining members of the Gentleman Bastards and a possible flashback to what exactly happened to Chains and Sabetha.

View all my reviews

