Red Seas Under Red Skies (Gentleman Bastard, #2)Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
With quotable lines like:“‘Woman, your heart is a mapless maze. Could I bottle confusion and drink it a thousand years, I could not confound myself so much as you do between waking and breakfast. You are grown so devious that serpents would applaud your passage, would the gods but give them hands.’” How can an author really go wrong in any scheme of things?

Where the first volume, Lies of Locke Lamora was flabby and helter-skelter with over description, Red Seas under Red Skies is the very image of trim and proper, very much like our unsung hero Jean Estevan Tannen, martial artist of great repute, albeit in possession of a few extra pounds.

The plot and it’s execution is beyond brilliant; same with the rhythm which is a constant pace that draws the reader into this mystery alien world very much like our own Earth if not for the mysterious civilizations that left indestructible evidence of their existence.

As I have come to expect from Scott Lynch, he writes novels that are stand alone in every sense much as a few details are left out that pique the inquisitive mind. I am going to embark on the 3rd volume to sate my curiosity as to what happened to Chains and Sabetha and how the legend of Locke Lamora can extricate itself from this very potent predicament.

Nice finish Scott!

View all my reviews

