Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I made the mistake of reading Siege and Storm(which I didn’t like much) before Shadow and Bone(which I have loved)so I already knew what happened later on but I suppose it was a good thing in that I finally had the pieces fall in place.
The Grisha world is unique to Leigh Bardugo(Hats off to her) and her writing style is easy on the eye. Her characters are solid as rock and memorable. The plot is good and strong.

One thing I didn’t buy was the heroine’s love-triangle. She fell hard for the villain(as expected) and had all but forgotten her childhood sweetheart. Mal too didn’t do a good job of convincing me of his feelings for Alina, which sucked, but okay. I don’t suppose every love story has to be epic. 🙂

4 Stars for epicness, originality, pace, progression and plot.

View all my reviews

