The Blade Itself (The First Law, #1)The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love Logen! Idk why. This story is multifaceted but I found myself waiting for those parts about Logen. I would liken Abercombie’s style to Lord of the Rings, you know the story only starts to make sense much later on. I love the realism of the fight scenes, for the most part. Logen was the Legendary Nine Fingers but you could see him fight for his life and not some like trumped up warrior who vanquishes his enemies with a flick of his sword. The plot is intricate and undoubtedly an amazing epic. The story is long and a good read as the tale unfolds. Abercombie is an amazing writer. It was an experience reading, you know his style, that was sort of poetic or should I say fable. some sentences stay with you—I am Alive! (Logen’s best) then –You have to be realistic about these things. (When Logen knew it was pointless to deny some facts like dying) I loved the portayal of Sand. It was almost painful to read his scenes. He is in so much pain, but he isn’t necessarily a bad man. A good read, I should say; you have to be realistic about these things 🙂 I can’t wait for the next installment. This is an Epic worth it’s weight in gold.

View all my reviews

