Last Argument of Kings (The First Law, #3)Last Argument of Kings by Joe Abercrombie

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In the Last Argument of Kings, I felt Joe Abercrombie went a tad overboard with the descriptive. it felt like being stuck in a bad dream and not being able to wake up. Half the book is all battle scenes and much as it was awesome reading this author’s beautiful mind, the gory details and the never-ending plot development got to me at some point. Abercrombie starting a different scene with the same wording of the previous, well there was that. I don’t know what to think of it. I was too invested in the story; it was a shock to realize author’s intrusion at this point. It reminded me, I suppose that this is just a story and not reality.
That said, I would give it to him, Joe Abercrombie has created one hell of an epic. His books are so well written and so intricate, I would put them in the category of Game of Thrones(which I find to be very bloody, heartless books). Lord of Rings and Harry Potter were written for a younger audience but that’s still the same category in my opinion. I really loved this Trilogy. I am happier for reading it. Many authors tend to screw up the last installments of their book series(Hunger Games). I am glad Abercrombie salvaged his book. Highly recommend!

View all my reviews

