Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

First off, this should have been named The Boy With the Bread. Katniss called Peeta that lots of times. Mockingjay…mmhm. Set aside the sombre mood, the gore, the death, and maybe this third volume in the Hunger Games series would have been okay. I felt the plot took a nosedive and it became a struggle to finish what I started. I felt Mockingjay strove to kill off all the memorable characters and scar the rest that when I finished, I was not happy, I was not satisfied. Even dystopia needs a bit of light at the end of the tunnel, not so? I think Mockingjay spiraled out of control and then Suzanne Collins lost her grip on the plot and story line. Someone should read this book and offer another perspective and angle I haven’t looked at. The 3 stars is because this remains a great book written by a gifted author. Can’t take that away from her. Over to you

View all my reviews

