Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3)Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I am one of the few people who didn’t like this book, so feel free to scroll to the next review…

I am tempted to rate this book a solid 1 star. After the sheer genius of Shatter Me, I feel the depth in writing style has steadily dropped to abysmal lows. Ignite Me was a mistake.
For one, what was up with the menstrual, embarrassing jilted lover scenes between Adam and Juliette? I swear my skin crawled when I read those. I flipped back the cover to make sure I am truly reading Tahereh Mafi.
The character development left a lot to be desired too. The hanging useless characters include James, Castle, Brendan, Ian, Lily, Alia, Winston and Adam. And those were the characters the entire story was woven around. If you asked me to name one thing about them, I wouldn’t know what to tell you. Castle was the leader of these guys and he became a footnote. How does a natural born leader just lose his personality that way? It felt unreal
The writing style was juvenile, cheesy, the plot too simplistic to the point of being irritating. The climax was an anticlimax. In one swoop, it was all over, summarised in a few lines, all the bad guys dead, the Heroine saves the day, let’s celebrate and go home! Jeez!
I am disappointed in Tahereh Mafi. This book had no soul. Plain truth.

View all my reviews

