The Desert Spear (Demon Cycle, #2)The Desert Spear by Peter V. Brett

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I have been wondering, did I miss something or what? When did the Warded Man in book one become The Painted Man in the Desert Spear? I like the former better…

Peter Brett has a crazy imagination, I’d give him that. His is a dark, mysterious world of demons that feed on humans in the night but combust to ashes in sunlight much like vampires. The characterisation is good and the plot solid. I found no fault with that.

That said, there is something about Brett’s writing style that makes reading his work a chore. I didn’t feel well-greased fluidity in the plot as I ought to have. Desert Spear is striking without fully drawing you in,the plot is intricate but I felt it took too long to align everything and by that time, it has lost so much of the magic and oomph it should have had had it been crisp. Good attempt though.

View all my reviews

