The Daylight War (Demon Cycle, #3)The Daylight War by Peter V. Brett

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

When I was just about ready to give up the Demon Cycle series, Brett goes ahead and pens The Daylight War. I had given the last two volumes a consistent 3 star rating mostly because I never felt the flow and rhythm in the writing style which meant I struggled to finish the books. Daylight War fixed that for me. It was a master-stroke from start to finish. Apart from the irritating “I love you Arlen Bales” and “I love you Renna Bales,” and Renna’s irrating personality, I could say I loved every inch of this epic.

The characterisation is so real, showing many facets to a character’s personality in tandem. Everyone is intricate and believable as they should be.

The fighting scenes made the story come alive like nothing I ever read in a long time. The Daylight War is intelligently written, well researched and brilliant to say the least.

P. S: One thing I found to be off was when Arlen wore Denim jeans in a time they shouldn’t have been there. What was that about?

View all my reviews

