The Hero of Ages (Mistborn, #3)The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Okay, I really liked The Hero of Ages. There I said it! That said, it was such a torture to read!!
The climax started in the middle of the book and didn’t let up right up to the end. A normal human reaction to climax is to hold their breath until it’s done. This Climax took an unnaturally long time. I suffocated, literally! Couldn’t breathe for most of the time I read. I thought I would like the anxiety but I have to say, Brandon Sanderson stretched it a tad too much. He piled on disaster after disaster after disaster; I felt like I was watching Tears of the Sun. I almost skimmed to the end.

In writing style, Brandon Sanderson is a god. He created a whole new world, destroyed it, created heroes to save it, destroyed them as well and did it all over again. It’s quite apparent he is an author of rare intellect. Reading the Mistborn Trilogy made me think of the DUNE series by Frank Herbert. I would have to say though that his vocabulary grew heavier with each volume as did the intellectual arguments and the length of the books.
That has to be the longest, most exasperating end to a book I ever read. You really dragged out every drop of pain from your characters, Brandon. Good work!

View all my reviews

